Home » ISD kosh N

ISD kosh N

| Contents |
Print Friendly, PDF & Email




The 14th Manu of the present Avasarpini, and father of Ṛṣabha. The father of Nabhirai and grandfather of Ṛṣabha was Vajranabha This name, also present in Hindu literature, married his son to Marudeva’s daughter. So for the first time marriage did NOT take place between brother and sister. Thus marriage was instituted. Before that time people were born in pairs – twins (m+f). The twins lived together and procreated. So in that period of time, in which period when humanity was sustained by wish fulfilling trees (kalpa trees), only m-f twins were born. Ṛṣabha, Marudevi (his mother) and Nabhirai (his father) were the first people to be born alone).


Nāmakarma The karmas which determine the physical appearance of any creature. There are many times relating to body form, color, skin type, attributes such as wings and joints, pleasant or unpleasant outlook, etc.


Naminātha (Naminath) The 21th Tīrthaṅkara, who lived 84,000 years before Neminātha


Ṇamokār mantra A prayer of virtues, expressing the worship of Arihanta, Siddha, Ācārya, Upādhyaya and Sādhu, by reciting the ṇamokāra-mantra. They are known as Pañca parameṣṭhi. Actually the ṇamokāra-mantra is a reverence mantra:   Ṇamo arihantāṇaṁ, Ṇamo siddhāṇam, Ṇamo ācāriyāṇaṁ, Ṇamo uvajjhāyāṇaṁ, Ṇamo loe savva sādhūṇaṁ.


Nava /Nine padhārthas Pardhārtha indicates in what stage the soul is. The nine padārthas are the same as the seven tattvas, with virtue and sin, puṇya and pāpa, added.


Nava Devata

Nine types of worshipables by Jains: 1) Arhata (Arihanta); 2) Siddha; 3) Āchārya; 4) Upādhyāya; 5) Sādhus; 6) Jain dharma itself (the path of non-violence); 7) Jināgamas (the holy scriptures); 8) Jina caityas: Jain temples which can be in any shape, such as a tree, house, caves, mountains, riverside where images are located; 9) mountains on which caityas are located, or ‘normal’ cave temples.


Nayas The way or the angle from which anything can be viewed. One naya looks from one angle and cannot give one the total view at once. one must see the totality (pramām) from all angles.


Neminātha The 22nd Tīrthaṅkara, who reached his salvation (nirwāṇa) at Girnar mountain in present-day Gujarat. He was a cousin of Kṛṣṇa, but according to Jains that was much earlier than where the Hindus place Kṛṣṇa, i.e. a little over 5100 years ago.  


Nikat bhavya A soul which has accomplished already so much that it has to be reborn physically only one or at most three more times.


Nirjarā Dissociation, gradual dissociation or eradication of karmas, shedding of karmas, wearing down of karmas, exhaustion. (Susā) ‘Karmas’ means particles of karmic matter (karmapudgala) to the soul.


Nirwāṇa see Mokṣa (Mukti)  


Niṣcaya (Nishchaya) Dharma: Dharma that allows you to see only reality, the soul, but no illusions, which are all worldly charms.  


Nokarma Nine body karma: 1) laughter; 2) crying; 3) curiosity; 4) scaring others; 5) love expression; 6) hatred expression; the gender feeling of 7) male; 8) female; 9) eunuch. By means of these nine one attracts and binds karmas.