Home » ISD kosh C

ISD kosh C

| Contents |
Print Friendly, PDF & Email




Caitya (chaitya) Any temple of Jinas. They are not tombs or relic containers like the caityas (stupas) of the Buddhists, but the houses of life deities, or are containing scriptures.


Cakra (Chakra)

Cycle, circle.


Candragiri (Chandragiri).

The twin mountain with the Vindhyagiri in Sravana Belagola. Emperor Candragupti Maurya,  4th century BCE (340 BC – 298 BC) lived their as a Jain monk in the last part of his life in the days of Badrabahu, the (Digambara-to-be) Jain cārya who had come with a group of Jains from the North of India during a famine there. There is today still a Parśvanath temple of Candragupta, and a perfectly preserved 98 panel stone jali (gate) depicting his life, including his Greek wife Helena.


Caritrācāra (Charitra aachaar, etc.)

Observing right conduct (āchāra = character) The third of the ratnatraya


Catradhari (Chatradhari) Possessor of an umbrella, symbol of protection of others): worldly leaders (kings) have one catra (chatra), jinas three to seven.

Catur (Chatur) Āradhana.

The four (catur) Āradhanas or uplifting prayers are samyak darśana: jñāna darśana, caritra darśana and tapa-āradhana (devotion by means of right vision, right knowledge, right behavior and right austerity) See also Āradhana. It can also be called triratna + tapāchara


Caturdhik (Chaturdhik)

The four directions: E-N-W-S


Caturdhik (Chaturdhik) tri-awarti

Offering these three: mind, speech and body each three times in the four direction while reciting the ṇamokar mantra to the deity or Master in a Jain temple.


Catur (Chatur) Gati see Gati.


Caturmas (Chaturmas)

The four months in the summer of the rainy season when monks stay on one place in order to save the millions of creatures they might inadvertently kill or harm when walking, so they do not travel or move about. These are two months in summer and two months in winter, utilizing their time to revise the scriptures and train new ascetics in the group.


Caturvidha saṅgācārya (Chaturvidh sanghacharya) Leader of a saṅgha with the 4 types of people: śramana, śramanī, śrawaka and śrawikā. (male and female ascetics and male and female householders respectively) devoted to the path of spiritual elevation.


Caubis thana (Chauvis thana)

Twenty-four ways of analyzing the location of the soul in the universe, in either one of the four gatis and in which type of being it has taken form.


Cetana (Chetan) Conscious awareness of having a soul. See also Acetana


Cintan (Chintan) Reasoning, thinking.