Home » Indus Script Deciphered 03 Karma

Indus Script Deciphered 03 Karma

| Contents |
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3. Karma

Karmas are not only the actions themselves, but the invisible special karmic matter which has become attracted and attached to the soul by each and every vibration brought about by thought. Such karmas can, according to fundamental Jain belief, only be handled and countered with great effort (purusharth) and austerity by the ascetics who understand the seven tattwas instead of believing in any creator god. The majority of the people of the world is unable to realize the autonomy of the universe for its living and nonliving phenomena, regard it as the mysterious play of some unknown creator who they call God or Allah, etc. The Hindus see the world as the stage of play of Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh (Shiva) – the Creator, Sustainer and Destroyer/renewer. But the Indus sign themes do not display that, nor the karma doctrine as presented by Krishna of the Bhagavad Gita. The Indus theme lays unique emphasis on the swastika theme and evolution of life forms as a result of the working or effective result of karma. Evolution means facing the fruits of better karma in next lives after having faced the consequences of bad karmas – which counteracted progress. Also, that of swastika cross can be ended by understanding the doctrine of the seven tattwas and of the six eternal components as described later in # 24 and also shown in the seals below, which show three dharma dhyanas, and purusharth by the elephant.

ISD 03 1 jpg ISD 03 2 jpgISD 03 3 jpg  ISD 4 4 jpg

The seven tattwas mentioned above are the phenomena affecting the living world, where 1: soul, and 2: matter (as karma) having combined (=3: bandha) to make a living body form, while more karmas are added continuously by vibrations (4: asrava). Protecting the soul by one’s own attentiveness against the above 4 tattwas is called (5:) samvara. Tattva 6: nirjara, is the expulsion of the karmas from the soul, so that (7:) moksha or nirvana is achieved. Each of these seven tattwas are recognized in Indus seals. To make an end to the cycle of rebirths the cross is recrossed.

Explanation of the above four figures:

  1. The swastika is pushed by great effort (purusharth, symbolized by an elephant);

  2. The cross is recrossed through three dharma dhyans or by remembering and contemplating the seven tattvas which are to be observed in life.

  3. The cross is recrossed by renunciation and penance while joining a sangha (religious group of monks headed by an acharya).

  4. An ascetic who has renounced worldly life is shown while doing penance in a forest. He has a ratnatraya on top of his head as it was observed by Rishabha, the first tirthankara whose symbol is a bull), and he is fasting under his prescription of austerity while some are laying here awaiting him to offer him food – shown as the Path.

Next issue: 4. Osmanabad Jain cave panel